Universities approved to run Post Graduate Programmes – 2019


    Universities approved to run Post Graduate Programmes. The National Universities Commission (NUC) has observed with great concern that some Nigerian universities are running unapproved postgraduate programmes, leading to the award of Masters and PhD degrees.

    The Commission has also observed that some Parastatals and Institutes are awarding these same Postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and foreign Universities. Such practices are not only unethical, but also antithetical to time-tested quality assurance best practices. The qualifications/awards resulting therefrom are not recognized.

    The Commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have approval to offer postgraduate programmes at the Masters and Ph.D levels in Nigeria, as of 25thJune 2018:

    Federal Universities Approved for Post Graduate Programmes

    1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
    2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
    3. Bayero University, Kano
    4. Federal University of Technology, Akure
    5. Federal University of Technology, Minna
    6. Federal University of Technology, Owerri
    7. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
    8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
    9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos.
    10. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna
    11. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka
    12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
    13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
    14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
    15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
    16. University of Benin, Benin City
    17. University of Calabar, Calabar
    18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan
    19. University of llorin, llorin
    20. University of Jos, Jos
    21. University of Lagos, Akoka
    22. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
    23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka
    24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
    25. University of Uyo, Uyo
    26. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto
    27. Federal University, Dutsin-ma, Katsina
    28. Federal University Oye Ekiti, Ekiti
    29. Alex Ekweme Federal University

    State Universities Approved for Post Graduate Programmes

    1. Abia State University, Uturu
    2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
    3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko
    4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
    5. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
    6. Benue State University, Makurdi
    7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
    8. Delta State University, Abraka
    9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
    10. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti,
    11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
    12. Gombe State University
    13. Imo State University, Owerri
    14. Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil
    15. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
    16. Kwara State University Malete
    17. Kogi State University, Anyigba
    18. Kaduna State University, Kaduna
    19. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
    20. Lagos State University, Ojo.
    21. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
    22. Niger-Delta University, Wilberforce Island
    23. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye
    24. Osun State University Oshogbo
    25. Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt
    26. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode
    27. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
    28. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai

    Private Universities Approved for Post Graduate Programmes

    1. Achievers University, Owo
    2. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
    3. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
    4. Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo
    5. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc only)
    6. Al-qalam University, Kastina
    7. American University of Nigeria, Yola
    8. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
    9. Baze University, Abuja
    10. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
    11. Bells University of Technology, Ota
    12. Bowen University, Iwo
    13. Caleb University, Lagos
    14. Covenant University, Ota
    15. Crawford University, Igbessa
    16. Crescent University, Abeokuta
    17. Fountain University, Osogbo
    18. Godfrey Okoye University Ugwuomu-Nike, Enugu
    19. Igbinedion University, Okada
    20. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji, Osun State
    21. Landmark University, Omu-Aran
    22. Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc only)
    23. Madonna University, Okija
    24. Novena University, Ogume
    25. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
    26. Oduduwa University Ipetumodu
    27. Pan-African University, Lekki
    28. Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
    29. Salem University, Lokoja
    30. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc only)

    Employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are to note that only certificates issued by these universities, for their approved programmes, are valid for employment, further studies and other purposes. When in doubt about the status of any programme or certificate, the National Universities Commission should be contacted through info@nuc.edu.ng and the following telephone numbers: 08027455412, 07054407741, 08067787753, 07039254081 and 07082024412 (FAX)


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here